MindBlown

·

2 min read

I have been pretty absent on here since my last entry. However, as I promised, I dove into learning the backend. Let's just say that is the reason why I haven't been able to focus on anything else.

Just to think I can understand what CRUD is has me flabbergasted.

We have been learning about Node.js, Express, and MongoDB. Leon has been creating an API and has been walking us through it. He then has us go over it again with our own version. At first, I was lost and did not know what to do. I could not think of anything that I could us to create an API. I put it to the side and continue working on my codewars and anki.

While at work I was talking to my best friend about the homework and how I was coming up blank with ideas. At that moment we were putting away our BTS decorations that we had used for an event. I said how wild it was that all it took for us to fall into that fandom was looking up the members names. That is when it hit me like a train! A BTS API!!

I built a small API with their stage names, real names, hangul names, and age. When you enter their stage name you get the other information. I uploaded it to Heroku ( sad it's removing their free version soon) and I was so amazed that it worked!!!

I want to share it but I want to work on it a bit more! I want to be able to get pictures when I enter their names along with the information. Maybe even like a slideshow from when they started to know. I don't know yet but I do know is that this idea is getting me excited!!!!