Is it a sign?

·

2 min read

Today was a very special day. I went to see my littlest perform in her last day of preschool presentation. They all dressed as who they want to be when they grow up. She went as a ballerina and she was phenomenal. I took half day off work to go see my kid and run some errands after (no time during my days off). Sign #1 that my day get eaten up by my job five days a week.

I got to work and took over the front desk since my coworkers needed a break. Everything was going well, helping people and answering emails. My boss comes over to talk to me (btw she's amazing, very supportive). We both notice an individual walking in. This patron is looking rough and clearly is under some type of narcotics. They come up to the desk and ask for computer pass. I ask them if they had ID or a library card. They say no and roll their eyes at me. So I asked for their name to get them a courtesy guest pass. At this point I think I struck a nerve for them. They were holding a Big Gulp cup full of (I am hoping it was only water) and they took it and HAULED it towards me and my boss! It flew above our heads and splashed the walls and desk. I immediately called for security, the patron started to yell profanities at us at the top of their lungs. Security comes running and the patron takes off as soon as they see them. I was shaken up. I had to take a few minutes to calm down, it happened so suddenly and violently. Sign #2 right?

I did end my night hugging my kids and solving a codewar! Sign #3 was seeing a Tweet by a fellow dev saying "This is your sign to quit your job and code full time".

Do you think it's the universe telling me it's time to quit the library? I think it's coming sooner than I thought!