Busy busy

·

3 min read

This entry will be more of a rant than an update about my tech journey. I had a long weekend that started on Thursday. I had asked for the day off from work because I wanted to finish things around the house while my kids were in school. I had a lot of gardening to do and take out a bunch of debris that accumulated. Yes, we are still working on the house and there is no sign of it being done soon :( . (Also two days off in the week is not enough to get errands done.)

Friday morning I had my first coffee chat in a few months. My last coffee chat was back in May so I was due to start again. I signed up with a Latino tech community called Techqueria. They have a channel that you can join and they pair you up with different people every two weeks. Not going to lie my anxiety was getting to me but I worked through it and it was worth it! I learned new information about the tech industry and I am more excited than ever to continue to pursue this field.

My parents were also coming back on Friday night. My kids and I wanted to make it special so I cleaned the house and got them a cake. My kids made them welcome back signs that we took to the airport. My dad is doing better but still has a lot of recovery to do. He got very emotional when he saw his grandkids again, he really thought he wasn't going to make it.

Saturday I just felt this fatigue wash over me. I had no desire of doing anything aside from the already planned activities for my kids. I started to get a ball-like knot on my shoulders that I could not even look to one side. All the stress from having my parents away and having to take care of my family and work and school just built up. Luckily my mom brought some medicinal herbs for stress and an herb-infused oil for inflammation from Mexico that worked wonders!

To finish off my weekend, Sunday I had a BTS event at the library and more than 60 people showed up! I was busy from opening to closing, meeting and greeting and interacting with many ARMYS. I was so exhausted from having used all my energy all day. However, my daughter has been asking to meet with her best friend so we had a meet-up. We decided to go to the Pumpkin Patch and of course, something odd happened. We went to the wrong one!! She was so sad and started crying and was very upset. Luckily our friends are very nice and accommodating and we decided to meet up for dinner so the girls can see each other. I really appreciate parents like that because they know how important it is for their kids no matter what it is and they make an effort to be there.

Needless to say, this weekend was just full of running around and getting things done. I made time to push my code every day as well. Even with a full day of events, I made a few minutes to practice code by doing a codewar or going over Anki. I am really proud of myself but I also saw that I need to stop and take care of myself often. I can't have me falling ill as well.